Classic Review: Clap Your Hands Say Yeah [2005]

Title: Clap Your Hands Say Yeah
Release: 2005
Label: None [Self-Released]

1. “Clap Your Hands” – A-
2. “Let The Cool Goddess Rust Away” – A-
3. “Over and Over Again” – A
4. “Sunshine and Clouds (And Everything Proud” – A
5. “Details Of The War” – B
6. “The Skin of My Yellow Country Teeth” – A-
7. “Is This Love?” – B+
8. “Heavy Metal” – A+
9. “Blue Turning Gray” – A-
10. “In This Home On Ice” – A+
11. “Gimmie Some Salt” – A-
12. “Upon This Tidal Wave” – A-

Comment: Hear me out! This album is awesome, but not over the top best of the 2000s kind of material. The gems are kind of obvious: “Over and Over Again,”In This Home On Ice,” and “Heavy Metal.” Though, strangely, I prefer Ounsworth’s early demo of “Heavy Metal” to the one on here. Still, it’s one of my favorite songs at any rate. The little instrumentals are not filler at all and this is something other bands just should (have) take(n) note of! On another note, I don’t really have many negatives to dish out. I’m willing to hope some of these songs grow on me (which is weird to say a mere five years after the album’s initial release).

Grade: A- (91)

CYHSY Albums Streaming

If you go to the Clap Your Hands Say Yeah official website, you can listen to their first two albums in their entirety. I will be reviewing them later on, but I thought I would let you know. It’s good music for January 20. On one hand, there is a whole lot of winter left, but on the other hand spring is coming and fun times and warmth are nearing.

CLYHSY Side Project…

UM01 2pnl_insert. [Converted]

That doesn’t involve Alex Ounsworth! Shocking…I know. I dig receiving updates via e-mail from these side projects of Clap Your Hands Say Yeah. Thanks to an update in September, I was informed of Flashy Python. His LP turned out to be one of my favorites. Ounsworth is also releasing another solo album on October 20. I’m really looking forward to that! Now, we have Uninhabitable Mansions. The group is made up of the likes of Robbie and Tyler from Clap Your Hands Say Yeah, Annie Hart from Au Revoir Simone, Doug Marvin from Dirty on Purpose, and Chris Diken from Radical Dads. Their album Nature Is a Taker is available now for digital purchase! They are also playing at TT The Bears @ 11 PM on October 25 for 10 singles.

1. “The Speed Is Deceiving” – 10
2. “Big Kick” – 9.7
3. “Do You Have A Strategy” – 9.8
4. “Midnight Topography” – 9.6
5. “Maps Not Accurate” – 9.9
6. “The Brain Is A Slow Wave” – 9.7
7. “Static State” – 9.6
8. “This Drift” – 9.9
9. “Ex-Explorers” – 9.9
10. “We Already Know” – 9.9

This album is very Pains of Being Pure at Heart sounding. It’s, in fact, becoming status quo to use Pains as a reference point for bands of this “throwback-pop” sound. What really does it for Uninhabitable Mansions are two things in particular: vocals (lead and backing) and keyboards. That’s not to downplay the good old gui-tar, which is the principal instrument in “Midnight Topography.” Lyrics, which CLYHYS and its well-received side projects like Alec Ounsworth and Flashy Python have always been masters at, are just as beautiful as you could imagine. “Only you could make me believe your masterful eyes which you pass off as business as usual…it’s just just just society’s way,” a voice speaks on “Maps Not Accurate” in a tone only a teeny notch above a whisper. Tracks like “The Speed Is Deceiving”  and “The Brain Is A Slow Wave” are mind-blowing. On many occasions I conjured up sounds of Galaxie 500 — an awesome slow-core band to be compared to. If you have an hour or so of boredom, just play these songs. Sit back and relax. If you fall asleep, that’s fine. I don’t think I’ve felt as much of an emotional connection to any band as I have with UM. And I’ve only known them for an hour. This is the album I’ve been waiting to hear all year.

Grade: 9.8