Tag Archives: Captured Tracks

Music Video: Juan Wauters – “Water”

Mmmm yeah, let me have a piece of that. That water is so delicious, it goes down so smooth with the Uruguayan voice and words of Mr. Juan Wauters. The song/video before you is called “Water,” and if you dig the folksy, mind bending stuff this cat has brought to you before both solo and of course in The Beets, then you will dig this. The video is directed by Beets/Juan vet Matthew Volz.

Don’t leave just yet. Juan has a new album out on Captured Tracks entitled N.A.P. North American Poetry. Ok, now you’re dismissed.

CD Review: Stay Home [2011]

The Beets
Release: 1/2011
Label: Captured Tracks

1. “Cold Lips” – A-
2. “Dead” – B
3. “Hens and Roosters” – A-
4. “Watching T.V.” – B
5. “Pops N’ Me” –  A-
6. “Floating” – A-
7. “Eat No Dick 2” – C
8. “Let It Dim” – B-
9. “Knock On Wood” – B-
10. “Just A Whim” – A-
11. “Your Name Is On My Bones” – A-
12. “Young Girls” – B+
13. “Flight 14” – A-

Comments: The Beets of Queens, New York (word to Queens — the best borough in NYC), a staple in the NYC DIY community, have followed up their first collection of songs with Stay Home, thirteen new songs about staying home. The coy, stripped down nature of these tunes are typically inviting and catchy. Stay Home is definitely meritorious of better acclaim than it will probably get. The more ‘professional’ music personalities will most likely brush this to the side given its home recording quality. The songs themselves have a Beat Happening feel to them, driven by neat vocal harmonies (“Floating”) and puerile topics (“Hens and Roosters,” “Pops and Me”). What separates The Beets from the rest of them is the singer Juan Wauters…his accent and delivery, specifically.

Grade: B (86)