CD Review: Outside [2011]

Tapes ‘n Tapes
Release: 1/2011
Label: Ibid Records

1. “Badaboom” – A
2. “SWM” – B+
3. “One In The World” – A-
4. “Nightfall” – B-
5. “Desert Plane” – B+
6. “Outro” – B-
7. “Freak Out” – B+
8. “The Saddest Of All Keys” – B
9. “Hidee Ho” – A-
10. “People You Know” – A
11. “On and On” – A-
12. “Mighty Long” – A

Comments: Tapes have always had a ‘bigger’ feel to them, but it seems more manifest on this record. They can pull a ballsy Kings of Leon on “SWM” and a fine orchestral sophisticated, extralocal Vampire Weekend esque swag on “One in the World.” The horns don’t disappear on “Nightfall,” which is a bit of a mess of a song. “People You Know” has a moderate Walkmen feel complete with a soothing organ and a tranquil rhythm. Just awesome. On that note, the last four songs on here rule; the sound that dominates on these songs is the sound that won me as a fan of the band. T+T keeping things simple and slowed down is best. I’m going to try to let the lower graded tracks grow on me. There’s a lot to like on here.

Grade: B+ (88)

Tapes ‘n Tapes play at the Paradise Rock Club on February 3, 2011.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s